COACH eHealth 2010 – Attendance

I had planned on blogging everyday during the eHeatlh 2010 conference in Vancouver.  Unfortunately, early in the conference I developed a nasty chest cold and it was all I could do to get through each day.  By the end of the day all I wanted to do was go to bed … blogging, unfortunately, was the last thing on my mind.

After several days of rest and pampering at my in-law’s place near Vernon, BC, I am starting to feel somewhat human again and I have the energy to resume my blogging activities.  In my last (and only) blog post on the eHealth conference, I mused as to whether attendance was down over previous years.  According to several people with whom I spoke the official attendance figure was just over 1700 people.  This figure compares with 1597 in 2009 (Quebec City) and 1700 in 2008 (Vancouver).

While attendance at eHealth 2010 did break the previous attendance record, the increase in attendance over the previous record was modest.  For all intents and purposes, attendance at the eHealth conference has been relatively stable for the past few years.  A similar attendance trend has been noted for the annual HIMSS conference in the US: 27,855 in 2010,  27,627 in 2009, and 29,100 in 2008.  Given the economic climate in both countries and the fallout of the eHealth Ontario scandal in Canada (which started to break in earnest at last year’s eHealth conference), a modest gain over the previous record is perhaps quite an accomplishment.

Mike

Leave a Reply

