Did the eHealth Ontario 2015 Blueprint See Its Shadow Today?

Since I often leave for work before the sun rises in the winter, I didn’t hear whether the groundhog saw his shadow today until after I sat at my desk. In fact, I didn’t hear about it so much as I read about it on twitter. Realizing that it was Feb 2nd, I pondered whether the eHealth Ontario 2015 blueprint document, like the groundhog, had made an appearance.  If it did it must have seen its shadow and scurried back in its burrow because I can’t seem to find it anywhere!

Last year I attended several public forums at which senior eHealth Ontario executives spoke about the new eHealth Ontario 2015 blueprint. The first event was an ITAC Health sponsored vendor forum at which Fariba Rawhani walked a packed room through a detailed overview of the blueprint; you can read my blog post on this event here. At the end of her presentation Ms. Rawhani promised that we would see a 100+ page detailed blueprint document “real soon”.

In early October I co-chaired an OCRI sponsored one-day eHealth partnership and innovation forum in Ottawa at which Ms. Rawhani once again spoke about the blueprint and once again promised a more detailed document would be released “real soon”. Thinking that perhaps the delay was imposed by events outside Ms. Rawhani’s control, I publicly asked Greg Reed when the blueprint document might be released when he spoke at an eHealthAchieve breakfast in early November. His initial answer was – wait for it – “real soon!” He then qualified his answer with “by the end of the month”. Perhaps I should have asked him “which month?” or “what year?”.

So, now it is 2012 and Ican only find one reference to the blueprint on eHealth Ontario’s web site. It is a copy of a one-page blueprint diagram on the vendor relations page.

Unlike the proverbial groundhog, no one seems to know what has happened to the eHealth Ontario 2015 blueprint document.  Given that lack of a strategy beyond 2012 was a major criticism leveled by the Auditor General more than two years ago, I am left to wonder why there hasn’t been more urgency given to releasing the blueprint document.

Mike

3 responses to “Did the eHealth Ontario 2015 Blueprint See Its Shadow Today?

  1. Kurtis Bishop

    Mike, it was posted today. Look again.

    • Thanks, Kurtis. What was posted was an animated presentation, not a detailed blueprint document. I tweeted about it as soon as I was provided with a link.

      My question still remains … where is the detailed blueprint document that was promised by Mr. Reed and Ms. Rawhani?

      Mike

  2. I asked about the document during a discussion that I had with some eHealth folks recently. One person in the group thought that the document had been posted on the site already. The second person said, no, it’s not there yet. The third person said, it really hasn’t changed much from the 2008 document so I could refer to it. Looked today, and I still don’t see it.

Leave a Reply

