Healthcare Consumerism: Patient expectations are changing

You are in a maze of twisty little passages, all alike. The task seemed simple enough: book an appointment for a follow-up visit with an orthopedic surgeon in Ottawa based on a referral from an orthopedic surgeon in Toronto. Yet, by my third call, I was beginning to feel like I was in one of those subterranean mazes that characterized Colossal Cave Adventure, one of the first computer games I ever played. While logic and common sense finally prevailed and I was able to book an appointment, the experience reinforced my contention that patients are also consumers and will increasingly demand the same level of service from their healthcare providers that they do of other service providers.

Check out the rest the rest of my article at Technology for Doctors.

Mike

 

Leave a Reply

